Dog Eat Dog (Melanie Travis #3) by Laurien Berenson

On the book:  WELCOME TO THE ELITE CONNECTICUT KENNEL CLUB, WHERE SHOCKING SECRETS GNAW AT THE BEST OF THE BREED AND COMPETITION HAS A SHARP–AND DEADLY–BITE.

As if raising her son Davey, training her rambunctious poodle Faith for the show ring, and grooming fellow handler Sam Drier for romance aren’t enough, Melanie Travis’s entree into the exclusive Belle Haven kennel Club has been met with a grisly murder.  Unfortunately, the only witnesses to the crime were the victim’s startled pair of Beagles.  And they aren’t talking…

Melanie hadn’t intended to do any serious snooping what with coping with the unexpected arrival of the ex-husband out to get joint custody of the son he’s never known.  In need of some serious distraction, she’s off to sniff out dangerous sectets…only to discover that everyone at Belle Haven has something damning to hide.

As the shocking truth slowly comes to light–and her own domestic drama moves center stage–Melanie finds herself eager to put the bite on a dogged killer who’s desperate enough to strike again.

My thoughts: I find it interesting that Aunt Peg just assumes that Mel is going to investigate.  I also enjoy that Aunt Peg is the one who seems to introduce Mel to all the main players in the plots of these mysteries.

The ex-husband assumes way too much for my liking. Some of the stuff he says to Mel pisses me off! Of course, that may have something to do with the fact that until I met my husband, I was a single parent to my autisic son.  Mel does show a lot of self control when it comes to him.

There were quite a few characters in this mystery that I thought was the killer. The mom of the victim seemed a little to trustworthy to Mel and Peg though.  She just let them come in to her house with no questions.  I guess that seemed a little too out there to me. Also I felt that the dog show business in this book was push completely to the side and not out front so much like the previous two books. That was kind of a let down for me considering I was getting into the idea.

I will keep reading this series because all the characters are growing on me like weeds.  I like how independent Mel is, Aunt Peg just makes me laugh out loud and the dog show business is getting more interesting to me as I grow along with this series!

Happy Reading!!

Leave a Reply

