Introducing Agatha Raisin by M. C. Beaton

imageThis book has the first two books of the Agatha Raisin series in it.

On Back of Book: The Quiche of Death

Putting all her eggs in on basket, Agatha Raisin gives up her successful London firm, and samples a taste of early retirement in the quiet village of Carsely.  Bored, lonely and used to getting her way, she enters a local baking contest with a quiche she has secretly bought from an upper-crust London bakery. But her recipe for social advancement sours when the judge not only snubs her entry–but falls over dead!

My thoughts: At first, I didn’t think I would be able to get through the story. Agatha seemed to pushy, rude and just plain nasty! She acted every bit as snobby as what most successful business owners in the city act like! That attitude, to a small town girl like myself, makes me roll my eyes and pray that I never have to deal with people like that! But I have a hard time giving up on just about any book, so I refused to stop reading! As it turned out, I realized that Agatha had a hard time making friends cause she never really had the time when living in the city too. Also if I had a man walk out on me never to be heard from again, I would be a little cold to other people too. The plot of the story was intriguing and interesting, that I was eventually able to look completely passed Agatha’s rudeness and keep going.  By the time the end came around I was wanting more!  I wanted to find out what was next in the crazy life of Agatha, would she make more friends or be able to keep the few she is starting with, and what about romance?

On Back of Book: The Vicious Vet

Agatha hasn’t quite adjusted to the pace of village life, or to the failures of her overtures to her handsome neighbor, James Lacey.  Since the new vet in town is young and good-looking, Agatha’s perfectly healthy tabby endures a nasty physical exam in the name of romance.  When the vet is found dead, Agatha convinces James that playing amateur detective might be fun–until snooping becomes a motivation for murder…

Agatha is at it again!!! Chasing romance and bad people!! I was laughing at the beginning of this one and through it also.  Agatha is still a little dicey with making friends. She has forged quite a relationship with Detective Bill Wong to bad he is way too young for her!  But it is nice to see that she has a friend on the force.  James Lacey is the object of affection that Agatha is after but seems to me that most of the ladies are after him. This does not help Agatha in making friends or in the romance department. I am excited to say that I will be reading more of this series!

Until next time, HAPPY READING!

Leave a Reply

